Skip to content

Faces of the Yard: Jim Shultz, Resident Sculptor

September 22, 2009

Jim Shultz

Name? Jim Shultz

Occupation? Resident Sculpture for the Navy Yard.

What are you doing in this picture? Working on a sculpture of the USS Dallas made completely of steel, car parts and even some from the Dallas itself.

What is your favorite thing about your job? I get to meet all kinds of people from all over the world like Switzerland, Holland, Germany, Russia, Austria, and they’ve all bought sculptures from me. And its all from word-of-mouth.

If you could say something positive about the Navy Yard, what would it be? I think the generosity of the people here at the Navy Yard is just enormous. You can talk to anyone here. If you need help, you can get it.

Favorite Weekend Activity? I am pretty much here 7 days a week.

Most embarrassing cd/Ipod song? I don’t really have one. I just hate heavy metal. I guess I am embarrassed for the people that make it.

Favorite North Charleston Thing? The Mill- Lyn Hynamen is an excellent cook and is thinking about making Lynie B. cakes and Wally makes a hell of a BBQ. As far as I am concerned though, EVO is the best place to go and eat on the street. When you go, everybody there is professional, the food is great no matter what you get, and there is no attitude from anyone. And it’s a great place to take a date.

Favorite Local Business or Non-Profit? The Noisette Company, CMMC, Detyens, and Neal Brothers. And of course Tracy’s who makes the best spaghetti in the 3 county area.

Where would you like see your company in five years? I’d like to have a little school that’s open to anyone in the tri-country area who wants to learn how to make steel sculptures.

What makes your company unique? I guess it would be me. I am afflicted but I’m not stupid.

Most Challenging Aspect of your work? Dealing with people that are in a position of power and don’t have a clue what they are doing and could care less.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    September 23, 2009 1:01 pm

    Hugh, there are three different spellings of sculptor, only one is right. Great work all around, keep up the reporter coverage. JimA

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

