Skip to content

Faces of the Yard: Justin Nathanson, Filmmaker

November 25, 2009

Name? Justin Nathanson

Occupation? Film Maker

What are you doing in this picture? Directing the Charleston Carrot Mob Video
What is your favorite thing about your job?Creating- I get to tell stories using the skills I have to shoot and edit. I love what I do and I think I am pretty good at what I do and to be able to share that is very rewarding.

If you could say something positive about the Navy Yard, what would it be? I think the whole idea of revitalizing it environmentally is very heroic. When thinking about where to move my business I realized that every decision I make can have an impact. I really like what the Navy Yard stands for and I want to stand with it. This building is just a really creative place with nice people. I think this is only the beginning for this area.

Favorite Weekend Activity? I love taking pictures, hiking, traveling, and road trips to nowhere.

Music interest that would surprise? I have every single Howard Stern Show archived since 1994. I listen to his show everyday. It’s because he’s a great advocate of the 1st amendment. He always speaks the truth and exposes hypocrisy with people of power. He is a hero of mine.

Favorite North Charleston Thing? I love opening my front doors to Park Circle. I love everything about it.Favorite Local Business or Non-Profit?It usually changes, but at the moment my favorite place is the Mill. Someone is lucky when they can say they have a great local bar. The mix of people there is great.

Where would you like see your company in five years? World Domination (half kidding). What I would really like to do is grow while still keeping the integrity of a small creative business.

What makes your company unique? I think that what makes my company unique is me and my experience. We don’t make Cogs. This is all based on one person’s creative vision for now.Most Challenging Aspect of your work?Bridging art and commerce successfully.

For more information of Justin’s company, The Cut Company, visit his site: http://thecutcompany.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

